Agnipath Protest in Bihar: Nitish Kumar Government Suspends Internet Services in 20 Districts; Check Details Here

Agnipath Scheme Protest in Uttar Pradesh: Protesters Set Empty Bogey on Fire in Ballia, Several Trains Cancelled as Precautionary Measure

Patna, June 20: Keeping in view the call for Bharat Bandh against the Agnipath scheme on Monday, Bihar government temporarily suspended the Internet services in 20 districts.

The suspension has been already in place in 12 districts since June 17 and the state government decided to add eight more. Bharat Bandh over Agnipath Scheme: Trains Cancelled, Traffic Jams Across Delhi-NCR; Check Details Here

“The suspension of the Internet services has given positive results and the violent incidents have reduced drastically in Bihar. The agitators and anti-social elements were failing to spread rumours in the state,” an official in the claimed.

The Internet services have been suspended in Kaimur, Bhojpur, Aurangabad, Rohtas, Buxar, Nawada, West Champaran, Samastipur, Lakhisarai, Begusarai, Vaishali, Saran, Muzaffarpur, Motihari, Darbhanga, Gaya, Madhubani, Jahanabad, Khagaria and Sheikhpura.

The telecom service provider companies have sent text to the that the Internet services have been closed for Monday. Though, the consumers of these districts will continue to avail voice calling facility.

Meanwhile, the Bihar government has enhanced the securities of BJP offices in 11 districts. The Bihar Police deployed Shasastra Seema Bal (SSB) personnel at the offices of BJP to prevent any untoward incidents. The 11 districts are Supaul, Kishanganj, Purnea, Saharsa, Darbhanga, Bhagalpur, Nawgachiya, Banka, Katihar, Madhepura and Motihari. In every BJP office, one platoon comprising 30 personnel has been deployed.

Security has also been beefed up for the leaders of the saffron party in Bihar. BJP leaders in the rank of state president Sanjay Jaiswal, Renu Devi, MLA Dr C.N. Singh, MLA Aruna Devi, MLA Vinay Bihari and others were targeted during the protests against the Agnipath scheme on Thursday and Friday.

Following the attack on BJP leaders, the Center has given Y-category security to 10 BJP leaders of Bihar.

(The above story first appeared on Fresh Headline on Jun 20, 2022 12:45 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website