Agnipath Scheme Protests: ‘Y’ Category Security Provided to 12 BJP Leaders in Bihar

Uttar Pradesh Assembly Elections 2022: BJP Hits Out at SP, SBSP Alliance, Says 'No Khadeda Hobe or Khela Hobe, Only Vikas Hobe'

Patna, June 18: After BJP leaders were targeted by agitators in Bihar protesting against the Centre’s ‘Agnipath’ scheme for short-term recruitment into the armed forces, the Union Home Ministry on Saturday decided to provide ‘Y’ category to 12 saffron party leaders in the state.

The Centre’s move came after Bihar BJP chief Sanjay Jaiswal blamed the state police for allegedly remaining silent even when properties of BJP leaders were vandalised by the protesters. Agnipath Scheme Protests: Internet Services Suspended in 12 Districts of Bihar Till June 19.

Those who have been provided ‘Y’ category include Jaiswal, Deputy Renu Devi, Deputy CM Tarkishore Prasad, Sanjiv Chaurasia, Haribhushan Thakur, Araria MP Pradeep Singh, Darbhanga MP Gopal Ji Thakur, MLC Ashok Agrawal, MLC Dilip Jaiswal, Sanjay Sarawgi and Vijay Khemka.

Under ‘Y’ category security, CRPF personnel will be deployed with these leaders. The BJP’s central leadership believes that Bihar police are not capable of providing to these leaders. Earlier, Jaiswal had blamed the Nitish Kumar government for allowing arson to take place in Bihar.

“It was not the agitation by the youth that led to the violence in Bihar. The violence happened due to the police of Nitish Kumar. The state police, which come under the CM, did not act against the agitators leading to large-scale violence in the state. Such an incident did not happen anywhere else in the country, even in non-BJP-ruled states like West Bengal and Jharkhand,” Jaiswal said.

(The above story first appeared on Fresh Headline on Jun 18, 2022 11:42 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website

//vdo (function(v,d,o,ai){ai=d.createElement('script');ai.defer=true;ai.async=true;ai.src=v.location.protocol+o;d.head.appendChild(ai);})(window, document, '//');

//colombai try{ (function() { var cads = document.createElement("script"); cads.async = true; cads.type = "text/javascript"; cads.src = ""; var node = document.getElementsByTagName("script")[0]; node.parentNode.insertBefore(cads, node); })(); }catch(e){}

} });